I was very surprised to learn that social workers use the internet technology for varies types of services.  I surf the internet and found several sites that caught my attention that helps older adults as well as their family members.  I was unaware of all the services out there that social workers deals with on a daily basis.  I gather up a lot of the information I found on the internet and what my classmates has provided and enter them onto my resource list.  The internet is a great online technology resource for students who will be going into the field to become social workers or just about whatever field of you choosing.  It's a Whole New World of Technology Out There Just  Waiting For Us To Use.

I found a site called Social Workers and e-Therapy which includes Telemedicine & Telehealth.  It is  offered to  clients in a range of treatment approaches.  The web site is  Social Workers and e-Therapy, it is approved by NASW & ASWB

 http://www.naswdc.org/ldf/legal_issue/2007/200704.asp

National Association of Social Workers (NASW) & Association of
Social Work Boards (ASWB)


Another site I found is  under Social Work Today, it's called Navigating the New Age of Electronic Counseling.  This is also  through the internet as well.  It deal with people living a far distance from their counselor so they could still receive services.  It's another way of electronic technology in delivering clinical services.  This also includes Videoconferencing.
The web site is Social Work Today
Navigating the New  Age of Electronic Counseling
http://www.socialworktoday.com/news/eoe_0706.shtml




 


 






Leave a Reply.